PATCHES
No No this isn't some way of annoucing we're having a baby ;) he he, but we are adding a member to our family for a while. We got a little beagle/benji mix. He is the cutest little thing, but boy is he a handful. I haven't taken care of a puppy for about 2 years and I had totally forgotten how much work they are!
We decided on this breed because when James was little he grew up next to a dog just like him. And his name was patches, so thats also why we decided to call him Patches jr.
He is a good dog but just like any puppy, he makes his good share of mistakes. When I trained my other dog I had crate trained him and that was SUPER easy! Its been a challenge with patches because when he was born up until the time he bought him he had been training with a doggy door. So needless to say we've had quite a bit of accidents by the door. He's really good at telling us he need to go but by the time we get to the door since there is no doggy door he goes ;( he also HATED his crate! This was a HUGE issue when we first got him, he is such a loving dog and he always wants to be around you that when we have to go and we have to put him in his cage, he stresses out and almost always pees in his cage. I was actually watching the dog whisperer( go figure....I wish I was like him...he's amazing) and he gave me the best tip ever! I wouldn't think something so simple and easy could just patches behavior. All I had to do was start feeding him in his crate and put a comfortable bed in his crate and he would never have another accident.....and guess what it WORKED! its amazing! everyone else was telling me that his cage was too big and I had to crame him into a smaller cage big enough for him to barely move....I felt bad....I guess all he needed was a bigger, nicer cage!
But needless to say its been quite an adventure with him....he does the silliest things and its really made me realize something.....WE ARE SOOO NOT READY FOR A CHILD! he he he ......having a puppy is like having a baby.....its a full time responsibility and its been hard for us! I am definatly not use to getting up in the middle of the night when he is whinning to take him to go potty,......but we love em any! he's a smart dog, which makes it harder for us to train him( you'd think it be easier, but he's too smart to be tricked into things he he) We'll see how everything turns out.....hopefully we'll have a well behaved caring dog at the end of all this.....
First day at our Home
Another Halloween outfit...devil and angel





